A Dream not Actually Remembered

I entered a contest recently, well, a race actually, where the winner received a check for $250,000. Actually, after taxes, the check was a bit less, but still a respectable chunk of change. I don’t actually remember exactly how much it was because I lost the check. Actually, I don’t know what happened to it, but it was right around $107,241.33. Close enough.

*

I actually won something. This in and of itself is actually amazing because I never win anything. Ever. It could have something to do with the fact that I never enter anything in which there is a chance to win something because I figure, “why bother? I’m not going to actually win.” But I did enter this particular event. At least I think I did. I’m not sure. I don’t actually remember.

What I do remember is winning. Actually, is a race a race if you’re the only one in it? Don’t know; don’t actually care because it was just me against the train. Yep, you heard me. I raced a train. And I actually won. At least I think I won because I did get a check. I don’t actually remember racing the train. I just remember I did it. No one actually handed me the check either. It was just there. It was there because I knew I had entered a race, I knew I had raced a train, I knew I had won, and I knew I deserved the check. It was pretty cool, no, it was actually pretty great because I could actually use the money.

So after I came home and before I went to sleep, I carefully laid the check on my nightstand next to my pillow so I could fall asleep looking at it. I don’t actually remember doing that either, but I must have because the check was there when I fell asleep. I know it was. I saw it. But when I woke up, it was gone. I know. I actually looked. Needless to say, I was actually pretty pissed off.

But it’s okay. I actually learned a lesson from all this. I just don’t remember what it actually was.

Leave a Reply

